I can’t stand you. I love you

NOV / DEC 2016: BY  MARIANNA KAPLUN

hanleia1

“You think a princess and a guy like me…?” –Han Solo

What do we know about them? Han Solo was a human male smuggler who became a leader in the Alliance to Restore the Republic and an instrumental figure in the defeat of the Galactic Empire during the Galactic Civil War. Leia Organa Solo (born Leia Amidala Skywalker) was, at various stages of her life, a politician, revolutionary, and Jedi Knight of the New Jedi Order.

Afraid I was gonna leave without giving you a goodbye kiss?

I’d just as soon kiss a Wookiee.

So at first glance, Han and Leia are very different people. A smuggler and a politically progressive princess? Are you kidding me, they are different like ice and fire! But Han is handsome, Leia is smart and gorgeous. And, yes, they are made for each other.

I’m not part of this! I’m not a part of your rebellion, I’m not a freedom fighter, and I don’t work for you, Your Highness!

If you worked for me, I’d have fired you already.

If I worked for you, lady, I’d have quit.

Han and Leia has a fun, passionate, respectful, supportive, and loving relationship. And we all want such contact, don’t we? Besides, they are both rebels in their hearts. But that’s not all. Undoubtedly, Han and Leia respect each other in their own way. When they disagree, they always argue unlike the other characters. Sometimes Leia is right, sometimes Han is right. And they know each other too well, not to understand this. However, as they worked together during the Galactic Civil War, Leia and Han Solo developed a relationship that would last throughout the war.

Sorry sweetheart. I haven’t got time for anything else.

hanleia2

Han and Leia are attracted to each other very much and it’s very important. Throughout the original trilogy, Han and Leia share many very kind and sweet moments that are important to them. Do you remember Carbonite scene? Han is unable to see and says: “I can’t see.” Leia tries to comfort him and says: “Your eyesight will return in time.” But Han doesn’t understand and ask her: “Who – who’re you?” And Leia says: “Someone who loves you.” And Han understands Leia is next to him. This scene is important not only because of Han’s insight, but also because when Han became frozen in carbonite, Leia herself realized that she loves him and will never abandon him.

I love you!

I know.

But why do Han and Leia fall in love? It’s very important to understand that in their passionate and extraordinary relationship they grow as personalities.

Do you remember Han and Leia’s first kiss? Their first kiss, aboard the Millennium Falcon, is the perfect culmination of their relationship until that point. Leia struggles with a part on the Falcon. Han moves in to help, but is pushed away. When Han grabs and rubs Leia’s hand she says: “Stop that! My hands are dirty.” Han tries to be funny: “My hands are dirty, too. What are you afraid of?” and continues: “You like me because I’m a scoundrel. There aren’t enough scoundrels in your life.” Lea tries to keep him at a distance and says: “I happen to like nice men” and adds: “No you’re not. You’re-.” But, finally, Han overcomes her resistance and kisses her.

So why we love them? They bickered, they flirted, and when they finally gave in to their feelings, it was really great. We wanted them to be together and we like them for their honesty and genuineness.

Yes, we love them and they know that we do.

femnistanovdec2016

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Marianna Kaplun was born in Moscow. She is a philologist specializing in Ancient Russian drama and theatre. She’s also a film and television critic by calling and librarian by profession. You can find her essays on her Facebook page and on Lumiere. She also blogs in English and Russian.

3 Replies to “I can’t stand you. I love you”

Leave a Reply

